PS Blog: Home Meet-up Review 03/18/10

19 Mar

I got home and logged on to PlayStation Home to ger access to a meet-up being hosted by the PlayStation Blog. When I first got there I was treated by a video showcasing some of the new content coming to the PlayStation Move this Winter and while the games were impressive the atmosphere was not.

I love Home because of the social vibe you get from it but this meet-up had none of that. Most people were simply just trying to find a way to get free stuff (which I didn’t get, nor understood how it worked), it didn’t have a community feel at all. While I was in the room I was treated to a conversation between a player and his ego, talking about how he was “Top 300 in the world” in Modern Warfare 2 (hardly a feat if it’s even true, which I’m sure it isn’t). Regardless, I wasn’t there for that. I was there to see some awesome games and for that I was satisfied.

Out of all the games I saw I was more impressed with Sports Arena. While I’m not the biggest fan of the Wii, I do love to play Wii Sports. Sports Arena is like that but with better games, and better PLAYING games which I could see by the person actually playing them. Table Tennis caught my eye the most and while most games weren’t displayed (like the Archery game, darn it!), I still can’t wait to sink my teeth into Sports Arena soon!

You're going to be the talk of the town with your virtual Bow & Arrow... Not Really.

The PS Home event wasn’t a complete failure, but it could have been done much better and it should have utilized the event space instead of the Theatre, but at least I could go next door and watch episode 5 of The Tester.

Overall Review: GOODCould have been better or at least more coordinated, and next time explain how the event items are obtained!

Leave a Reply

