Review: XBLA Game Room

25 Mar

Let me start by saying that anyone who knows me, know I happen to be quite fond of PlayStation Home. In fact I make it a high point in my day to get on and play some pool with random people. It’s like ChatRoulette but more fun and less penis dudes.

Now prior to my visit into the Game Room I knew what I was getting myself into. I knew it wasn’t a place you can freely walk around, like PS Home and it was a more of reliving the arcade experience but in a virtual world. Not a bad idea by any means, but after diving into the Game Room I can honestly say that this will either be the greatest thing ever for Microsoft or the biggest fail I have ever seen. I’m going more in the fail route. It’s not that I don’t like the Game Room it’s just the idea of spending even more money for arcade games that aren’t worth the 400 MSP they are put out for, on top of the fact that some of these games are already offered on XBLA.

My other gripe would be directed toward the controls for each game. When I start a game, I would like to see a button layout for the controls of the game. While this may seem minor it’s annoying to say the least, these games are really dated so if I want to play Lunar Landing I wouldn’t think the floating button would be R-Trigger! Another issue I have is how disconnected I feel with the Game Room. I don’t see who is playing games on the different cabinets unless I know my friends Avatars like that (which I don’t), maybe some text displaying their Gamertag over their head would be nice. I do hope that one day the team and Xbox decide to take the plunge and make a virtual world a la Home. Sure they may be  copying Sony, but copying is the cool thing to do these days.

 While the game room is still new I’m not going to toss it away just yet, instead I am going to give it time and see how it grows. Just wish they had an option for Pool players…

Final Score: Decent – Not bad by any means. I want to see how the prices play out which means I won’t be buying anything until I see a game for 200 MSP, yeah I said it.

3 Responses to “Review: XBLA Game Room”

  1. RobSkii March 25, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    i havent even downloaded this crap lol

  2. MuRRaY March 25, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    Agreed with your final comment!

  3. Weez March 25, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

    Yeah I didnt think it was too great either. Pretty confusing at first, and not really worth paying for.

Leave a Reply

